Music Review: Timewarp – Diskocutz .2 Remixed

timewarp diskocutz

Genre: Nu-disco / Nu-funk /

Region: Athens, Heraklion and Thessaloniki, Greece / Bucharest, Romania / Tuscany, Italy

Artists’ Website: Timewarp / Mikael Fas / Alessandro Otiz / The Gemini Bros / Leo Almunia

Label: Kraak Records

Release Date: December 3, 2012

Timewarp, aka Angelos Stoumpos, is undoubtedly an ambassador of all-funk /nu-disco / downtempo sounds in his home country, Greece. He is the originator of two labels Timewarp Music (est. 2004) and Kraak Records (est. 2009), both exhibiting extensive specialized catalogs, he has released four albums and manifold EPs, singles and remixes, he is a sound and mastering engineer while he has been performing internationally with renowned artists like Quantic.

This remix EP, which follows Diskocutz .2 (March 2012), is largely a Greek affair featuring the remixes of Mikael Fas from Heraklion, Crete and Alessandro Otiz from Thessaloniki. Mikael’s take on “Moments” is totally retro-futuristic drenched in mutli-layered synths incorporating the sound & vibes of Jean Michel Jarre. Alessandro’s remix of “What Ya Say” is groove-laden driven by funky guitar phrases and a deep bassline as mixed with dub and boogie elements – the percussive break is particularly enjoyable.

Gemini Bros from Bucharest, Romania offer their brand of uplifting funky house in their remix of “Grain Dreams”: four-on-the-flour, jazzy keys and a light atmosphere. Leo Almunia’s remix of “Disco Meters” demonstrates his characteristic Balearic beats mixed with his own guitar playing. Although deep house is certainly not in my music lexicon, I can still appreciate the atmospheric, laid back elements of the track like the vintage keys and guitar textures.

Diskocutz .2 Remixed, combines old and new sounds with an eclectic taste while some numbers will certainly feed DJ sets and shake dancefloors around the world. The overall positive vibes and the energetic yet relaxing feel will generally please any nu-disco, groove fans also at home.


More funky grooves at Freegan Kolektiva:

  1. Captain Planet – Mystery Trip Vol. 1
  2. AfroQBen – Liquid Gold
  3. Opiuo – Butternut Slap Part 3
  4. Hannah Williams & The Tastemakers – A Hill Of Feathers
  5. Leon – Night & Day EP

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s