Quality reggae free download: Dubmatix shares the whole ‘Atomic Subsonic’ album

Freegan Kolektiva’s suggestion for the closing of January 2012 is to download a fine modern reggae album directly from the artist for free. Dubmatix’s 2006 release ‘Atomic Subsonic’ has been uploaded 15 days ago at the artist’s Souncloud page for all the pleasure of music fans.

Dubmatix is already a renowned reggae/dub producer from Toronto, Canada with 4 successful full-legths and a few other dub sessions under the belt. He is also a 2010 JUNO award winner for Best Reggae Recording. Dubmatix has featured important reggae singers throughout his releases like Michael Rose, Alton Ellis and Ranking Joe among others.

‘Atomic Subsonic’ is a prime example of Dubmatix’s ‘collective’ sound, which incorporates funky grooves, tiny bits of turntablism and a host of reggae voices. At the same time these elements are well incorporated, not undermining the prevailing reggae character of the album.

Dubmatix – Champion Sound:

From the vintage dub homage of ‘Repatriation’ (think of King Tubby and the likes), to the outright reggae consciousness delivered by legendary Freddy McGregor (‘Senseless Killing Dub’) and the powerful Zion Train-like horn section dub of ‘Fist Full of Dub’ Dubmatix crafts reggae anthems one after the other. The haunting, meditative ‘Dirt, Dust and Sand’ deserves a mention as well as the groove reggae of ‘Skankin and Rocking’ (featuring the outstanding vocals of Howie Smart) and the edgy sounds (e.g. junglist bass) of ‘Blaze A Fire’. Not to forget also the infectious groove of ‘Champion Sound’, which became an underground hit as it was featured in various dub compilations (e.g. Wagram’s 2007 Dub Anthology).

Dubmatix – Senseless Killing Dub (feat. Freddie McGregor):

You can download the album track-by-track here.  The sequence of the tracks is the following (since they are not presented in order):

  1. Repatriation
  2. Champion Sound
  3. Senseless Killing Dub (Freddie McGregor)
  4. Who A Di Boss Dub (Anthony B)
  5. Jump & Twist
  6. Dirt, Dust & Sand
  7. Warning
  8. Rough Times
  9. Fist Full of Dub
  10. Skankin’ & Rockin’
  11. Blaze a Fire
  12. My Selecta

2 thoughts on “Quality reggae free download: Dubmatix shares the whole ‘Atomic Subsonic’ album

  1. hello saludos desde mexico.para este gran productoe dubmatix cielos viejo eres genial en orabuena muchos exitos man. bueno sin mas me voy……………………d(*_*)b……………………

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s